ABC Vancouver announces graffiti prevention strategy


October 3, 2022

VANCOUVER — ABC Vancouver announced today that an ABC majority on Council would implement a new Graffiti Prevention Strategy, aimed at proactively stopping vandalism before it happens.

“The ABC Graffiti Prevention Strategy will ensure we are proactively working to stop vandalism before it happens,” said ABC Councillor Sarah Kirby-Yung. “Focusing on prevention tactics that have been proven to work will help businesses and taxpayers alike.”

The Graffiti Prevention Strategy is headlined by a commitment to invest resources into a dedicated VPD unit that would focus on identifying and confiscating materials from prolific offenders.

Other features of the ABC Graffiti Prevention Strategy include plans to support initiatives to facilitate legal graffiti zones and murals that celebrate community and cultural heritage, and invest in victim support initiatives like the free paint program, graffiti abatement grants, and city-funded removal teams. ABC is also taking aim at controversial bylaws which fine businesses that don’t clean up graffiti within a certain window of time.

“Bylaws that punish the repeat victims of graffiti are beyond absurd,” continued Kirby-Yung. “We should be punishing vandals, not their victims.”

The Graffiti Prevention Strategy builds on prior commitments made by ABC Vancouver to shift City Hall’s priorities toward a greater focus on public safety — most notably a pledge to hire 100 new police officers and 100 mental health nurses.

“Issues of public safety, vandalism, and street disorder are complex challenges that require both short and long term action,” concluded Kirby-Yung. “ABC is the only party offering a comprehensive strategy to appropriately deal with these issues at every level.”

ABC Vancouver has nominated eighteen candidates for the October 15th municipal elections; Ken Sim for Mayor; Lenny Zhou, Peter Meiszner, Brian Montague, Mike Klassen, and incumbent City Councillors Rebecca Bligh, Lisa Dominato, and Sarah Kirby-Yung for Council; Brennan Bastyovanszky, Laura Christensen, Angela Haer, Marie-Claire Howard, Scott Jensen, and Jas Virdi for Park Board; Alfred Chien, Preeti Faridkot, Victoria Jung, and Josh Zhang for School Board.


Media Contact:
Kareem Allam

Previous ABC becomes first party in Vancouver to release full election platform

Sign Up for the ABC Vancouver Newsletter

Sign Up for the ABC Vancouver Newsletter

We acknowledge that we live, work, and play on the Unceded Territories of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations.

ABC proactively seeks to support and elevate those from traditionally marginalized and underrepresented communities including women, members of the 2SLGBTQAI+ community, indigenous persons, racialized persons, persons living with a disability, immigrants, and those who experience or have experienced economic hardship.

Authorized by the Financial Agent for ABC Vancouver

ABC Vancouver
PO Box 95043
Vancouver RPO Kingsgate
Vancouver BC V5T 4T8